30 Day Challenge: I think I can, I think I can…

18. Marnie from HBO’s Girls said “Sometimes being stuck in my own head is so exhausting it makes me want to cry.” What’s something you over-think too much?

So, I came up with this prompt with a distinct idea in mind and now I can’t remember what it was. That seems to be a trend for me in this challenge, I’m seeing.

I guess the most fitting example I have of this is the fact that I overthink plans to a disturbing degree. I have horrible insomnia and the main reason for that is because I tend to get lost in my own head, making lists and plans for the upcoming days, until I suddenly notice I have to be awake in 2 hours and where did the time go?!

For instance, I have today, tomorrow, and Saturday off from work so I decided go back home and visit my parents. I invited my best guy friend to join because I’m from a military town and he has a weakness for military boys (match made in heaven, much?) so I ended up staying up most of the night the other night planning out our day on Friday so he could get optimal man-meat-viewing. Those plans fell through because of a school project he has but seriously, that’s what I did for a full 5 hours the other night. I have the worst brain.

I like to over-analyze the past too but I think everyone does that. Consider all of the things we could have done differently or the people we should have overlooked, etc. You see, as humans, we’ve been blessed with these analytical brains without fully understanding all of the subliminal ways that we use them. But I think that’s the magic of intellect and life and the world in which we’ve been thriving. It’s kind of beautiful, if you think about it, the sheer expanse of our abilities. Maybe I’m just a huge nerd though.

Leave a Reply

