Standardized Tests (aka GRE is going to kill me)

So I’ve been a little MIA for the last few days and that’s entirely because I’m studying my ass off for a test.

But wait? Didn’t I already graduate from college?!

Why yes, dear readers, I DID graduate already! But since I’m struggling to find a job with my measly two degrees, I’m considering going back to school for my master’s degree. That means I have to take a test to prove I actually learned something in college, I guess?

I’m not entirely sure what a $200 bunch of randomized math and vocal usage questions can tell you about my education level that my degrees and GPA can’t tell you but I’m scheduled to take it next week. 

Now, let me tell you when the last time I took a math class was. I took College Algebra during the fall semester of 2008. Yeah. You read that right. I haven’t had an official math class in almost 6 years. What little math practice I have had involves taking the tests my sister (a high school math teacher) makes for her students in order to make her grading keys. 

On top of the total lack of recent math education in my life, I’m a pretty crappy test taker when it comes to standardized tests. I get nervous and freak out and just generally do badly when compared to my grades in the classes. I had a teacher in high school that actually thought I cheated through most of her class just because I did so much better on class work and homework than I did on the tests. I just suffer from serious test-taking anxiety.

Well, let’s be real, I’m a while anxiety attack waiting to happen on a good day.

All I can say is thank goodness for ETS’s practice tests. I’ve taken three in the last week and my score keeps improving each time. I’m just kind of freaking out about the test overall.

Anyways, the whole point of this post is to let you lovely (and primarily nonexistent, let’s be real) readers know that I may be MIA until next weekend because I’m going to be in hardcore study mode.

We’ll be back to our regularly scheduled uselessness after that! Thanks for understanding and WISH ME LUCK!!

Leave a Reply

